WOC Sprint Qualification: 21 nations in both men’s and women’s finals

Great Britain achieved three heat wins, Switzerland two and Belgium one in this morning’s qualification races. Twenty-six nations in all will take part in the finals, with Denmark, France, Norway and Switzerland having all their runners through.

The fifteen best in each of the qualification heats go into the final. There will be 46 runners in the men’s final following a tie for 15th place in one of the heats. The nations tally for both finals is twenty-one, and they include eight nations with just one runner in all: Australia, Canada, Japan, Latvia, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia and Ukraine.

Eef van Dongen NED, bronze medalist in Knock-Out Sprint, qualified easily for today’s final.

Photos: Will Hollowell / IOF

Nations having all but one runner through are Austria, Czech Republic, Finland, Great Britain, New Zealand, Poland and Sweden. Belgium and Germany have all their men’s team members through to the final. A fuller analysis can be found on the WOC Twitter page @orienteeringwoc.

Now we look forward to the finals later today, with the arena in a park in the centre of Vejle. The first final, the men’s, starts at 17:51 CEST.

Heat winners, Sprint Qualification


Charlotte Ward GBR, Simona Aebersold SUI, Megan Carter Davies GBR


Florian Howald SUI, Yannich Michiels BEL, Kris Jones GBR