WMOC ends with challenging Long Final

The heat in Hungary – over 30 degrees – combined with hilly and often diffuse terrain made for a very hard Long Distance final, the last race in WMOC. The most convincing result was that of the Norwegian Øystein Kvaal Østerbø, who won M40 by more than 10 minutes.

Additional to those in classes W90, W95 and M95 where there was only one competitor, Østerbø was one of four competitors finishing the event with three gold medals. The other three are Jane Smutna, Czech Republic in W55, Jurate Uleviciene, Lithuania in W70 and Brigitte Schmiedeberg, Germany in W85. Nine participants won two gold medals.

M&W40 podium: from l. Michael Sørensen DEN & Reda Velde LTU; Pernille Sommer DEN & Øystein Kvaal Østerbø NOR; Jose Manuel Crespo Garcia ESP & Anastasia Routsi FIN    Photos: WMOC

In this race there was a joint gold-medal award; in M60 Per Backlund, Sweden and Jozef Pollák, Slovakia finished with the same elapsed time, and third-placed Zdenek Zuzanek, Czech Republic was only 37 seconds slower. M70 Keld Johnsen, Denmark had the narrowest win, by just 9 seconds, and home athlete Martin Hajdu won M50 by 14 seconds. Because of the terrain and weather conditions, times in general were very spread out.

M&W60 podium: from l. Jannike Wahlberg SWE; Jozef Pollak SVK, Katalin Karman HUN & Per Backlund SWE; Olena Rudakova UKR & Zdenek Zuzanek CZE

As in the Middle final, M75 was dominated by Finnish athletes, who here took the first six places plus eighth. Overall, gold medals went to athletes from 14 nations – 10 different nations in both the men’s and the women’s 13 classes.

Cover picture: M&W75 podium: from l. Timo Peltola FIN & Sharon Crawford USA; Jorma Hyyrylainen FIN & Inge Jørgensen DEN; Kari Timenes Laugen NOR & Paavo Inkinen FIN

WMOC 2021 Long Distance Champions

W35  Katarina Lamiova SVK

W40  Pernille Sommer DEN

W45  Merike Vanjuk EST

W50  Anna Gornicka Antonowicz POL

W55  Jana Smutna CZE

W60  Katalin Karman HUN

W65  Lotta Linsefors SWE

W70  Jurate Uleviciene LTU

W75  Inge Jørgensen DEN

W80  Elli Pelkonen FIN

W85  Brigitte Schmiedeberg GER

W90  Sole Nieminen FIN

W95  Lena Nordahl SWE

M35  Yury Masnyy RUS

M40  Øystein Kvaal Østerbø NOR

M45  Marek Prasil CZE

M50  Martin Hajdu HUN

M55  Ferri Gassner AUT

M60  Per Backlund SWE & Jozef Pollák SVK

M65  Jorma Nissila FIN

M70  Keld Johnsen DEN

M75  Jorma Hyyrylainen FIN

M80  Roland Karlsson SWE

M85  Rune Carlsson SWE

M90  John Larsson SWE

M95  Adolf Kempf SUI