WMOC: close races in Sprint Final

Athletes from 14 nations won gold medals in the Sprint Final – 11 nations in the women’s 13 classes and 8 nations in the men’s. Most successful were the Swiss men who took gold medals in 5 different classes.

Held in the old town district of Hungary’s 9th largest city, Székesfehérvár, most races were very tight with winning margins of less than a minute. Closest races were in M55 and M85, where the silver medalists were just 5 seconds down on the winners. The tightest women’s class was W40 with a margin of 7 seconds. Tricky navigation in the labyrinth of small streets, alleyways and back yards led to a number of disqualifications for mispunching.

In W85 there were just two competitors, with Brigitte Schmiedeberg, Germany winning by more than 15 minutes. In W45 and W80 the gaps between first and second were 1.16 and 1.15.

Øystein Kvaal Østerbø on his way to victory in M40           Photos: WMOC

The most impressive men’s victory was by the well-known Norwegian athlete Øystein Kvaal Østerbø, taking M40 by 1.06. He was “the best Norwegian sprinter for a long period, with 4th place in the World Championships Sprint in both 2005 (Japan) and 2010 (Norway”, to quote worldofo.com. He won silver medals in both forest and sprint relays in his 12th World Championships, in Scotland in 2015, and was 3rd overall in the World Cup back in 2004.

Adolf Kempf SUI, M95, clearly enjoying his course              

This year there is one competitor in both W95 and M95, and also in W90. They all completed the 1.09 km course successfully. There was double family success for Monika (W60) and Mario (M65) Ammann, Switzerland.

Lena Nordahl SWE, W95

Monday is a rest day, and competition starts again on Tuesday with the Forest Qualification race.

WMOC 2021 Gold Medalists – Sprint


W35  Katarina Lamlova SVK

W40  Eva Novai HUN

W45  Irita Pukite LAT

W50  Barbara Kastner AUT

W55  Jana Smutna CZE

W60  Monika Ammann SUI

W65  Alena Rosecka CZE

W70  Jurate Uleviciene LTU

W75  Torid Kvaal NOR

W80  Inga Lill Wikingsson SWE

W85  Brigitte Schmiedeberg GER

W90  Sole Nieminen FIN

W95  Lena Nordahl  SWE


M35  Eugenii Popov RUS

M40  Øystein Kvaal Østerbø NOR

M45  Samuel Diaz ESP

M50 Thomas Greve Jensen DEN

M55  Ferri Gassner AUT

M60  Lukas Jenzer SUI

M65  Mario Ammann SUI

M70  Raimo Hyyrylainen FIN

M75  Mauno Hanhela FIN

M80  Eric Bucher SUI

M85  Martin Hutzli SUI

M90  Kjell Arne Pettersson SWE

M95  Adolf Kempf SUI