First CX80 EMTBOC golds to Denmark and Finland

Nikoline Splittorff, Denmark and Samuel Pokala, Finland won today’s Sprint races in the CX80 European MTBO Championships in northern Poland, both by clear margins. Medals went to 5 nations on a warm sunny day in high-speed terrain.

There were many changes in position as the races progressed, with opportunity in places for short-cuts off the paths and tracks, some proving better choices than others. The terrain was mainly forest but with a few open areas, moderately hilly, and a sometimes complex pattern of paths. Quite a lot of route choice was included in the courses, which were 5.9 km long for women and 6.6 km for men, with optimal riding distances more than 8 and 9 km respectively.

Photo: Jakub Kijek / EMTBOC 2024

World Ranking leader Splittorff dominated the women’s race, with a lead of 10 seconds at the intermediate point that was extended to 39 seconds by the finish. Her closest challenger today was the fifth-ranked Lithuanian Gabriele Andrasiuniene; both she and Splittorff were almost a minute ahead of all other riders after many had made mistakes in the first third of the course. Bronze medallist Constance Devillers, France benefited from a strong finish, as the next three competitors were less than 10 seconds slower. The six podium placings were from 6 different nations.

Women’s Sprint course

In the men’s race Pierre Martinez, France led at the split, with the race winner Pokala 1 second slower. Times overall were very close, and sixth place at the finish was only 1.09 down on the winning time.

Photo: Jakub Kijek / EMTBOC 2024

Pokala rode very strongly in the later stages, and finished with a 30-second lead over Ignas Ambrazas, Lithuania who achieved his best-ever international result – so Lithuania has started the championships well with 2 silver medals. Finland took bronze, André Haga finishing 54 seconds down. This was 33-year-old Pokala’s first international Sprint success following a string of medals over Long distance. Defending Sprint champion Krystof Bogar CZE finished sixth.

Men’s course

Tomorrow the tempo changes: Long distance courses are 26.4 km (optimal route 35.4 km) with 400 m climb for the women, and 33.8 km (46.2 km) / 475 m for the men. The estimated winning time in both classes is between 105 and 115 minutes. The races will be covered on IOF Live from 10:00 CEST.

Leading results, Sprint


  1. Nikoline Splittorff DEN 24:12
  2. Gabriele Andrasiuniene LTU 24:51
  3. Constance Devillers FRA 26:37
  4. Elvira Larsson SWE 26:40

5= Ursina Jaeggi SUI & Ruska Saarela FIN  26:46


  1. Samual Pokala FIN 22:51
  2. Ignas Ambrazas LTU 23:21
  3. André Haga FIN 23:45
  4. Teemu Kaksonen FIN 23:47
  5. Bartosz Niebielski POL 23:58
  6. Krystof Bogar CZE 24:00

Junior EMTBOC – Sprint gold medallists

Women: Iris Aurora Pecorari ITA by 0:52

Men: Hannes Hnilica AUT by 1:21

European Youth MTBO Championships – Sprint gold medallists

Women: Emma Lang FIN by 0:32

Men: Radek Lesage CZE by 0:15