European Cup in TrailO: Runaway win for Polish athlete

Krystian Petersburski from Poland has taken overall victory in ECTO this year by the huge margin of 46 points, with four wins and a second place from the 10 competitions. Anders Höije, Sweden was second with one victory and two runner-up placings, and third place overall went to Pinja Mäkinen, Finland.

Petersburski, born in 2001 and a member of the Azymut 45 club in Gdynia, had clinched overall victory without having to attend the final event, but he went to Denmark anyway and won the TempO competition there, solving 25 problems without mistake in a total of just 107 seconds. His first win in international competition was again in TempO, in his home country in August 2022.

Anders Höije SWE, Krystian Petersburski POL and Pinja Mäkinen FIN constituted the podium at the Nordic Match TempO prize-giving in Denmark last week – and the top 3 in ECTO 2023 as well.

Five events with two competitions at each made up the series this year, and with a points-per-place system a competitor’s five best results counted. The events were held in Lithuania, Sweden, Czechia, Hungary and Denmark.

316 athletes in all took part in one or more of the events. One person took part in all the events – John Kewley, Great Britain – and a significant number took part in four events.

Find the final standing here